Thursday, 25 August 2011

The 2011/12 Uefa Champions League Draw! 4.45pm Nig. Time

The draw for the Champions League Group Stage takes place on Thursday in Monaco from 4.45pm (UK time).

How the draw works

The 32 clubs who feature in the draw are split into four pots of eight based on their UEFA coefficient scores. These are based on performance in European competitions over the last five years.

A total of eight groups of four teams will be drawn with one side from each seeding pot in each group. No side can be drawn against another from the same pot, nor can they play a team from their home country.

Where two sides from the same country have qualified, they will be paired to split their matches between Tuesday and Wednesday, so one club will always play at home on one day and the other will play away on the other day. In the case of countries with three representatives, only two teams have been paired in terms of their fixtures; in the case of countries with four representatives, two pairings have been made.

To ensure sides from the same country play on separate days, the eight groups will be distinguished by colour: Groups A-D will be red and Groups E-H blue. When a paired club is drawn, for example, into one of the red groups, the other paired club - once it has been drawn - will automatically be assigned to one of the four blue groups.

The order of home and away matches will be determined after the draw has taken place.

Pot One:
Manchester United
Bayern Munich
Real Madrid
FC Porto

Pot Two:
AC Milan
Shakhtar Donetsk
CSKA Moscow

Pot Three:
Zenit St. Petersburg
Bayer Leverkusen
Manchester City
FC Basel
BATE Borisov

Pot Four:
Borussia Dortmund
Dinamo Zagreb
Apoel FC
Viktoria Plzen
Otelul Galati

So have your say! What do you think the groupings would be like?

No comments:

Post a Comment